top of page

Fallen trees and other messes (like dirty diapers.....)

WELP.......I didn't think things could get worse or more unfathomable. You might gather where this is going, but let me backtrack.

Before the end came, "he" watched my dogs for me while I went to my niece's wedding in Canada. While I was gone, he decided to cut down some trees that needed to be thinned out, for forest health and for benefit of freeing up the view from the deck. All things we discussed doing in our many talks on the subject of the property potential........middle, middle, middle he left for younger, greener pastures a few months later and I still had the downed trees to contend with. These were about 30 ft tall, give or take, all fell on a steep hillside, and still needed to be limbed and bucked for firewood. I've had some experience running a saw, but it was always supervised by my husband. Anyone will tell you I'm pretty accident prone, so the chances of me being able to do this by myself was......tenuous at best.

Notice I'm only limbing this bad boy.  Husband had to buck it!

Winter, et al came and went and (although I harbored hope, despite my better judgment) it was clear he wasn't going to come to his senses and come back to me and continue on with our seemingly amazing plans.

Cut to this year, last month to be precise (actually not long after my previous post). I needed a guy to help me with these downed trees. Thankfully I know a guy......he's lovingly called either "Logger Dave" or "Cowboy Dave" depending on the venue and circumstances. A tough as nails, no BS former professional logger. For his 50th birthday, he decided to ride a bull in our local rodeo; the next time he rode he got stomped BADLY by the bull; he often gets '86'd out of places due to his colorful language and his personal view on the world. You get the picture. But at the end of the day, he is a salt of the earth guy who's always willing to help, assuming he likes you. I'm lucky enough to be a "cool chick" in his opinion, so I'm in the right camp! I called him up and he agreed to help.

Coincidentally, one of Dave's daughters works with "him" (its a small community). Dave was somewhat familiar with my situation. As we are tossing cut logs off the hill down to the landing, he says something to the effect that.... "well, I heard he got her knocked up". MOTHER FUCKER.

I was frankly not surprised, for some reason. Seems like exactly what would happen in this situation; someone who, at age 41, cheats with a 22 year old and gets engaged in the span of less than a year. After professing he never wanted to HAVE kids,....

Here was my second reaction:

And my third:

Dave doesn't suffer fools, so all I could say was 'I should write up a bill for your work - you can give it to your daughter to give to "him"', since you are finishing a project he started'. Which would have actually been hilarious...DAMN I SHOULD HAVE DONE THAT!!!! Hindsight, you've betrayed me again!!!

I know how I'm supposed to feel, and most times I do. Lucky to be done with him; lucky I dodged a bullet; lucky, lucky, lucky. Most times, I just feel yucky.

This has been a world-class mind fuck of an experience. It'll be interesting to find out what happens next, so stay tuned!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page