top of page

I need to catch the F up - this trip is ancient history

Oh man am I sore! I think someone cut my Achilles. I am clearly out of shape in the hiking department. We were going to go to Tent Rocks, but slept in (we both needed it, I think) so we decided to hit the NM History Museum. We still have to drive back to the airport, etc so are limited in time so this is a good choice. After, back to La Fonda for a final margarita on the best rooftop on the planet at the moment, then one last stop - the “miracle staircase” at the Loretto Chapel www.lorettochapel.com/staircase.html.

A mental nod to my friend Corriedawn who passed suddenly, unexpectedly and mysteriously this year; she found Catholicism before the end, I wonder in part for the sheer beauty in the rituals and art. I wanted to light a candle for her but if felt false because a) I’m not Catholic and b) they charged $1 to light a candle…..clearly the cost is not an issue for me, and I understand even God needs to balance the books, but after paying the $3 entry fee, it seemed less like a beautiful church and more like a tourist attraction…….I have been thinking of you CD and get the magic and beauty in the iconography. A few last look arounds and it's time to say goodbye to Santa Fe. Need more than a long weekend; hopefully the next time I come, my mental headspace will be in the nirvana zone of indifference and I've left my emotional baggage in the dumpster where it belongs....


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page