top of page

It must be 5 am, redux

It's the morning after my 50th birthday, which all in all was lovely. I was celebrated and cheered by many friends and family, and count myself lucky to be surrounded by so many wonderful people. The problem with situational depression (which I'm pretty sure I have) is that you loose the capacity to FEEL that wonderful feeling, which is frustrating - you end up beating yourself up more because you feel so disconnected, like there is one small (or one big) synapse missing; feel like a jerk because you have an awesome life and SHOULD feel great! You become disconnected from the gratitude. So I vowed this morning, as the dogs started stirring, that today was going to be lived on a positive note, with gratitude abounding. and then this.......

sorry, this is gross, I know!

Poor Basil had to leap out of bed to barf (more than once). Good morning Monday! At this moment, all I could do was laugh. Of course this just happened!

I was listening to my favorite music station on Sirius, (XMU) which plays indie pop/rock/rap, unsigned artists, etc. The DJ (Carles) was commenting on life and how wouldn't it be great to go back in time, when you felt life was at your feet with endless possibilities? Kinda like you are a 'TWEEN WHO JUST GOT THE BEATS BY DRE HEADPHONES, CIRCA 2010'. HAHAHAHA!!!! LOVE IT, that's going into circulation!

SO LETS DO THIS THING!!! BEATS BY DRE! It's raining (again) this morning, but Spring seems to be coming around. The loveliest time of year in the forest is when the flowers start to come out, like the Trilliums. Fleeting, but very special.

a 'gang' of trilliums.  Unlikely that's an official term!

Did I mention it's been raining a lot here?

thank god for rubber boots!

The other nice thing about Spring is it's lighter earlier. That makes life so much easier while wandering in the woods (DUH!). Only had to use the flashlight half the time! Winning!

This time of year we're into Barred Owl breeding season. They are super noisy (OK that came out all sorts of wrong - GET YOUR MIND OUT OF THE GUTTER!); they are noisy when they are calling to each other!

We have had one shadow us in the woods while we're walking along our path.

just a sample photo, not one we actually saw!

I just learned recently that the government is killing Barred Owls in order to attempt to save Spotted Owls. Apparently this has been going on for the last two years, with results uncertain.

I'm unsure as to the benefit of killing one species to save another. The controversy surrounding the spotted has been going on for as long as I can remember. According to the innerwebs (typo on purpose) they've been endangered since 1990, due they thought because of over logging.

I don't know how this post-birthday morning-dog-barf blog got so far into Woodsy the Owl commentary, but there you have it!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page